3 Things I Told My Kids When They Were Young That Made Them Think Like Entrepreneurs

This post was written by my mom, Lori Wayne. I’ve often asked her if she can point to things from my childhood that made me the way I am today at 25 years old. As background, I presold $73k worth of product from my college dorm room, dropped out, sold $5m worth of our Heyo.com product, raised an addition $2.5m in venture capital, and have created 20+ jobs.  

Here are the three things I told my kids to make them think like entrepreneurs.

1. All Things Are Possible

All Things Are Possible and You Can Do Whatever You Want With Your Life – Don’t set limitations for yourself. 

Think big, think expansively, consider the possibilities and if there is something that you want to do, see, buy, or accomplish you can do it.

It may require a plan and hard work, but if you really want it, it is worth pursuing. Don’t let people tell you that you can’t, be confident, be persistent do the work and complete the activities that are needed to get you where you want to go.

Be a glass half full, positive person and think abundantly.

2. No Job is Worth Doing No Matter How Much It Pays, If You Don’t Love Doing It

Life is too short to work a job that you don’t enjoy just because of the money.

You spend too much time at work, to be doing something that you are not passionate about and committed to. You have choices about the type of work you do.

Avoid consumer credit card debt, having debt limits your choices and creates undo stress about money.

If you use a credit card, plan to pay it off every month. If you feel stuck or unfulfilled in a job or in a business, figure out how to make a change. Do work that you love.

3. Look People In The Eye And Be Prepared To Carry On A Conversation

When they were young this was all about being polite and being brave enough to talk with grown-ups, when they were teenagers, it was about being polite and speaking full sentences, instead of doing the teenage mumble.

This is all about engaging in a dialog a social one or a business one – have a point of view, participate in the conversation, be curious, ask questions.

I did this with them from the time they were young – engaged them in conversation, explained things to them, solicited their opinions, and asked them to provide input.

I was transparent with them about how I evaluated options and made choices, and I engaged them in conversation about how they were making choices.

When possible and when age appropriate, I included them in the process of making family decisions. I encouraged them to learn how to learn and to learn to be problem solvers.

Three questions to ask your kids to make them think all things are possible:

1. Hunny, how would you do that?

I’d ask my kids this when they proposed something I knew wasn’t possible. Instead of shutting them down, I’d let them explore a solution. They’d surprise me most of the time!

2. Point to an achievement of someone else and ask your kids “how do you think they did that?”

3. Encourage curiosity by proposing big questions to your kids. “Nathan, how would you build that treehouse yourself using just scrap wood?”

Pointing to direct experiences that shaped my children’s thinking is always difficult and hard to prove. These are the basic starter points I encouraged my kids to think about to be independent thinking, hard working, and innovative problem solvers.

Are you asking your kids these questions?

3 Reasons Why Decreasing Churn is More Important Than User Growth for SaaS Companies

It’s more important to get 10 paying customers at a 99% monthly retention rate (1% churn) than it is to get 100 customers at a 95% monthly retention rate. (5% churn)

Here’s why:

1. LTV determines CAC

Smart SaaS entrepreneurs know that lifetime value (LTV) determines what you can spend on customer acquisition cost (CAC).

Lifetime value is determined by taking monthly average revenue per customer (ARPU) and multiplying by (1/churn %). So if your average customer pays $100/mo, and your monthly churn is 5% LTV is equal to $100 * 1/.05 or $2000. LTV is $10,000 with 1% monthly churn. This is a big deal.

This means you can reasonably spend $500 acquiring a customer to fuel growth (1/3 of LTV) at 5% churn. However if your competitors only have 1% churn, they could spend up to $2-3k on CAC and crush you like a cockroach by outspending you.

Your ability to pay more for a new audience increases the lower churn is so focus on lowering churn (or increasing retention) before growth. Here are 3 strategies and email scripts I’m using right now to retain new HeyoCart.com users.

2. Only 30% of revenue comes at the initial sale

You can’t help but feel good when you’ve finally closed a customer on your $100/mo plan. Don’t lose focus though.

Contrary to what new entrepreneurs may think, you are not done after you sell a new customer.

Rather, the hard work is just beginning because 80-90% of your revenue comes after the initial sale via upsells, crossells, and renewals.

You must focus on asking your customer questions to identify why they decided to pay $100/mo (or whatever your price is) and what results they are hoping for.

Then, make sure you and your software over-delivers. Create 3 things you know the customer must get as a benefit in order from them to renew in the second month. If you don’t know what those 3 things are, ask them:

“Jen, I love that you’re using Heyo. You’re paying us $30/mo. What do we have to help you get in the next 30 days to make it a no brainer for you to pay again next month and the month after?”

If you’re an email marketing platform, it might be send their first email or get 50 subscribers.

If you help customers save money, how much must you help them save for them to stay a customer?

If you give your customers analytics, what sorts of analytics can you deliver that no one else can to drive retention?

After you’ve got a cohort of users (say 10 to start) renewing for a 2, 3, and 4th month. Start asking them questions about what else they might pay for to start adding upsells and crossells to your product roadmap.

(Remember, it’s cheaper to keep a customer than get a new one and it’s easier to increase revenue by up-selling then finding new customers altogether).

3. The bigger you get, the harder churn is to tackle and overcome.

Driving revenue growth in a SaaS company comes down to 3 things.

New customers, revenue from upselling current customers, revenue lost from churn.

If you’re looking to drive 10% monthly growth, you’re doing $50k/mo, and you have 10% monthly churn, you have to drive $5k in new revenue and/or upsells JUST TO HIT FLAT GROWTH.

To hit your 10% growth target, you’d need $10k in new sales and/or upsells from current customers. That feels doable (at $100/mo, that’s 100 new customers).

Lets change the math now to a bit bigger scale.

If you’re looking to drive 10% monthly growth, you’re doing $250k/mo, and you have 10% monthly churn, you have to drive $25k in new revenue and/or upsells JUST TO HIT FLAT GROWTH.

To hit your 10% growth target, you’d need $50k in new sales and/or upsells from current customers. That feels way more difficult (at $100/mo, that’s 500 new customers).

The revenue lost from churn becomes harder and harder to replace with new customers the bigger you are.

Get this right at the beginning and you’ll save yourself time, money, and gray hair. These are general targets you should optimize for:

The next SaaS post I write will be one of the following. Tell me in the comments which you’d prefer:

1. Top reasons why churn happens

2. 12 SaaS metrics every entrepreneur needs to know but usually forgets


One Thing I Did To Save $3651 on My Taxes (You Can Too!)

It’s tax season which means everyone’s playing the “how do I save on taxes” game.

Here are three easy to understand moves I made that saved me $3651+ on taxes.

1. Save $.56 per business mile driven

To/From DC 1/mo = 3000 miles on car
To/From Charlotte 1/mo = (175 miles) = 2100 miles on car
To/From Roanoke = 4 times per month = (33 miles) = 1420 miles on car

Total work mileage 2014: 6520 miles

Tax savings: ($.56 cents) $3651

The way I see it, every time I look at my odometer on my car and it says “60MPH”, I’m making $30. ($30/hour for every hour I drive at 60mph). The more money I save, the more I can spend on these 3 weird retention strategies at Heyo.

Be smart about tracking your miles driven and “cash in” during tax season. To be efficient, I just track the big chunks (versus trying to capture miles driven to work every day and for every business errand.

Easy eh? I had too much fun helping you keep $3651 of your hard earned dollars… here are two more strategies that are easy to use:
Continue reading One Thing I Did To Save $3651 on My Taxes (You Can Too!)

3 Retention Strategies I’m Using For Heyo’s New Product

We’re actively launching a new product at Heyo called Heyo Cart.

Authors, influencers, and experts can post to their Facebook page, ask their fans to simply comment buy, and when fans comment buy, the influencer makes money. Here’s a live example.

Writing this is a bit risky (my investors won’t like it) but I think it’s important to communicate how we think about product and activation/retention as we’re actually launching a new product (versus talking about it 4 years from now from a “looking back” perspective).

Before reading further, you should know the following:
Continue reading 3 Retention Strategies I’m Using For Heyo’s New Product

To Be Alive Is The Biggest Fear Humans Have

I read about 3 books per week (usually one biography and two strategy books) using these tactics to read about 600WPM and still retain everything.

“The Four Agreements” was given to me by my mentor and early investor, Doug Juanarena in September of 2013. He scribbled the following message on the inside: “This book will set you free. Read it a few times and internalize the message.”.

The book summarizes four agreements to live by, they are:

Continue reading To Be Alive Is The Biggest Fear Humans Have

How to take $1 and turn it into $1000 using Outsider strategies

I found this book tucked in a corner of Kramer books in Washington DC – an indie book store. The book is called “The Outsiders”, written by William Thorndike, Jr.

A day after I bought it, one of my investors shared he was considering naming his new VC firm after the book so I knew it was a must read.

This is a guide for every entrepreneur, CEO, or person with a big idea on how to fund your ideas by turning $1 into $1000. Keep reading to see how I’m using the strategies in this book to generate those kind of returns at Heyo and in my life.

This book is about the worlds top 8 CEO’s as measured by per share value over their tenure as CEO. Many of these CEO’s you’ve probably never heard of but should absolutely study.

Here they are:

1. Tom Murphy with Capital Cities Broadcasting. If you invested $1 with Tom Murphy in 1966, it was worth $204 by 1995. This was a return of 19.9%/year over 29 years versus +10.1%/year for the S&P 500 index.

2. Henry Singleton with Teledyne. If you invested $1 in 1963 when Singleton became CEO, it was worth $180.94 by 1990. This was a return of 20.3%/year over 27 years versus +8.0%/year for the S&P 500 index.

3. Bill Anders with General Dynamics. $1 invested when Anders started was worth $30 seventeen years later. This was a return of 23.3%/year over 17 years versus +8.9%/year for the S&P 500 index.

4.  John Malone with TCI. $1 invested in TCI in 1973 was worth well over $900 by end of 1998.  This was a return of 30.3%/year over 25 years (up to ATT acquisition) versus +14.3%/year for the S&P 500 index.

5.  Katharine Graham with The Washington Post. $1 invested when Graham became CEO in 1971 was worth $89 by the time she retired.  This was a 22.3%/year over 22 years (since IPO) versus 7.4%/year for the S&P 500 index.

6.  Bill Stiritz with Ralston Purina. $1 invested with Bill when he became CEO was worth $57 just 19 years later. This was a return of 20.0%/year over 19 years versus +14.7%/year for the S&P 500 index.

7.  Dick Smith with General Cinema. $1 invested with Dick at the beginning of 1962 would have been worth $684 at the end of the period in 1991. This was a return of 16.1%/year over 43 years versus +9%/year for the S&P 500 index.

8.  Warren Buffett with Berkshire Hathaway. $1 invested at the time of Buffets takeover of BH was worth $6265 45 years later. This was a return of 20.7%/year over 46 years (through 2011) versus 9.3% for the S&P 500 index.

Below are my notes:


Many people think Jack Welch is greatest CEO of all time from his Six Sigma and Total Quality Management (TQM) initiatives along with his intense focus on stock price at General Electric. He was not. The CEO’s in this book were.

Press focuses on increase in companies per share value, this is the wrong focus.

Performance in this book is measured on the compound annual return to shareholders during the CEO’s tenure and the return over the same period for peer companies and for the broader market (usually measured by the S&P 500).

Singleton, CEO of Teledyne, aggressively repurchased stock despite it being unconventional. He avoided dividends and emphasized cash flow over reported earnings and never spoke to journalists or reporters.

Singleton generated a 20.4% return to investors compared to 11% by his comparable peers. If you invested $1 in Singleton in 1963, by 1990 when he retired it was worth $180. Singleton outperformed others by 12x.

The highest performing CEO’s focus on capital allocation: the process of deciding who to deploy the firms resources to earn the best possible return to shareholders. Choices for deploying capital include investing in existing operations, acquiring other companies, issuing dividends, paying down debt, or repurchasing stock. Choices for raising capital include tapping internal cash flow, issuing debt, or raising equity. This is the CEO’s toolkit.

Business schools don’t teach capital allocation Warren buffet has observed very few CEO’s who are good at it (most CEO’s come from product, engineering, or marketing experience).

Singleton focused on selective acquisitions and stock repurchases.

Graham and Dodd advocated investing strategy of buying companies that traded at material discounts to conservative assessments of their net asset values.

The best performing CEO’s understood these 7 things:

1. Capital allocation is the CEO’s most important job

2. What counts in long run is increase in per share value not overall growth or size

3. Cash flow, not reporting earnings, is what determines long term value

4. Decentralized organizations release entrepreneurial energy and keep both costs and rancor down

5. Independent thinking is critical and communication with press is distracting

6. Sometimes best investment is your own stock

7. With acquisitions patience is a virtue as is occasional boldness

These unique CEO’s personalities were typically frugal, humble, analytics, and understated. Family centered, did not attend Davos, did not write books or give advice, did not exude charisma.

Introduction: The Iconoclasts

The best CEO’s in history were old fashioned, frugal, conservative, and bold. They usually developed their own financial metrics that were unconventional and not accepted by Wall Street.

These CEO’s were exceptional rational. They were not “from industry”, Rather they were diverse and able to make connections across fields to innovate.

Each of these CEO’s ran a highly decentralized organization, made at least one very large acquisition, developed unusual, cash flow based metrics, and bought back a significant amount of stock. They were more like investors than innovators.

When their stock was cheap, they bought it and when it was expensive, they used it to buy other companies or to raise inexpensive capital to fund future growth.

The center of the worldview by these CEO’s was a commitment to rationality, to analyzing data, to thinking for themselves. They had a genius for simplicity.

The simple and single minded cash focus Henry Singleton had led him to buyback 90% of his own stock in the 1970 and 1980’s. For John Malone with TCI, it was the relentless pursuit of cable subscribers, for Bill Anders with General Dynamics it was divesting noncore businesses and for Warren Buffet it was the generation and deployment of insurance float.

Summary: The best CEO’s in the history of business were rational, frugal, conservative, occasionally bold, used out-of-industry information and trends to create breakthroughs, kept their organizations decentralized, and acted more like investors than innovators.

Chapter 1: A perpetual motion machine for returns

Tom Murphy with Capital Cities focused on making his company more valuable, not bigger. The goal is not to have the longest train, but to arrive at the station first using the least fuel.

Murphy’s formula was to focus on industries with attractive economic characteristics, selectively use leverage to buy occasional large properties, improve operations, pay down debt, and repeat.

Murphy executed what we now know as a roll-up. This is where a company acquires a series of businesses, attempts to improve operations, keep acquiring and benefit over time from scale advantages and strong management.

Murphy moved slowly, developed real operational expertise, and focused on a small number of large acquisitions that he knew to be high probability bets.

“The business of business is a lot of little decisions every day mixed up with a few big decisions” – Murphy

Dan Burke was responsible for daily management of operations and Murphy for acquisitions, capital allocation, and occasional interaction with wall street.

Dan Burke believed his job was to create the free cash flow and Murphy’s was to spend it. They were the most potent tag team duo in the history of capitalism when it comes to shareholder returns.

In 1986 Murphy bought the ABC network for $3.5b with financing from Warren Buffet. This represented over 100% of Capital Cities enterprise value at the time – a bold bet.

In summer of 1995 Buffet suggested to Murphy that he meet Michael Eisner, CEO of Disney at the Allen and Company gathering in Sun Valley, Idaho. Murphy and Eisner fleshed out a deal over a weekend where Disney agreed to buy Capital Records for $19b, a 13.5x cash flow multiple on Capital Records and 28 times net income.

If you had invested $1 with Tom Murphy in 1966, it was worth $204 by 1995.

There are two resources CEO’s have to manage: Financial and Human. Hire the best people and leave them alone. Murphy delegated to the point of anarchy and focused on controlling costs, not revenues. Murphy only had three people at corporate and kept headcount low.

Burke kept legendarily detailed annual budgeting process. Outside of these meetings, managers were left alone and sometimes went months without hearing from corporate.

This anarchy set up in place corrupts you with so much freedom that you can’t imagine leaving.

When Murphy knew what he wanted to buy, he spent years developing relationships with the owners. When Murphy approached Goldenson about buying ABC in 1984, he started with: “Leonard, please don’t throw me out the window, but I’d like to buy your company.

Murphy relied on simple rule for evaluating acquisitions: He’d acquire if he could return double digit after tax return over ten years without leverage.

Murphy had an unusual negotiation strategy. He’d ask seller what they thought their property was worth, and if he thought they offer was fair, he’d take it. If the thought proposal was too high, he’d counter with his best price, if seller rejected, he’d walk away. This saved time.

Bartender at Capital Cities party said: “I’ve worked a lot of corporate events over the years. Capital Cities was only one where you couldn’t tell who the bosses were”. This says a lot about how Tom and Dan thought about over excessive spending and the credit they gave out to the individuals they delegated to.

How I’m applying this chapter to my life and Heyo:

– I used to feel good about the fact that I could answer “20+” when someone asked me how many jobs Heyo has created at a cocktail party or startup event. What’s more important is revenue per employee. Murphy said in this chapter: “The goal is not to have the longest train but to arrive at the station first using the least fuel”.

– One of Heyo’s strengths is storytelling and marketing. We build great relationships and then figure out value added ways to introduce the Heyo product to consumers via those relationships. This strength could be maximized if I had more high quality products to introduce via webinar to each influencers different audience.

A roll-up strategy makes sense here. I’m going to spend time evaluating if I can buy 2-3 companies for under $1m each, introduce their product to the distribution channels we’ve built at Heyo and increase their value. I may also look to invest $50k in 3-4 different social media startups and then help them drive revenue growth. Either way, Heyo spreads it’s wings. Capital Cities under Murphy, as described in this chapter was an extremely successful example of a roll-up that leveraged Capital Cities scale advantages. I’ll follow his playbook.

Chapter 2: An Unconventional Conglomerator: Henry Singleton, Teledyne

Warren Buffet believes Henry Singleton has the best operating and capital deployment record in American business.

In 1960, Teledyne refused to pay dividends despite everyone else doing so, believing they were tax inefficient.

Teledyne started by acquiring 3 small electronics companies. Using this base, they successfully bid for a large naval contract.

Conglomerates, companies with many, unrelated business units, were the internet stocks of their day in the 1960’s.

Conventional wisdom today is that conglomerates are inefficient when compared to their “pure play” competitors (Rackspace is pure play hosting versus Amazon which competes directly with Rackspace but also has other business units)

Most conglomerates in 1960 had high PE ratios which they used to acquire like crazy. (Stock was easier to use as effective bargaining chip)

During this period, there was less competition for deals (private equity didn’t exist yet), and the price to buy control of an operating company was often materially less than the multiple the acquirer traded for in the stock market providing a compelling logic for acquisition.

Singleton used his high PE ratio (arbitrage) to his advantage and between 1961 and 1969 acquired 130 companies. All but two acquisitions were entirely stock based.

Singleton emphasized decentralization. Hire smart people and let them build business units. Those business units would make money, sent back to Singleton who would then decide how to allocate capital.

In 1972, Singleton proposed stock buyback because he felt there was no hire return way to spend capital than on his own stock.

Singleton believes buying stocks at attractive prices was self-catalyzing, analogous to coiling a spring that at some future point would surge forward to realize full value, generating exceptional returns in the process.

Charlie Munger said of Singleton: Like Warren and me, he was comfortable with concentration and bought only a few things that he understood well.

In 1986, Singleton begun to de-conglomerate (starting spinning off business units due to attractive prices).

Most important decision CEO makes is how he spends his time between management of operations, capital allocation, and investor relations. Singleton reserved no day to day operations for himself.

“I do not define my job in any rigid terms but in terms of having the freedom to do whatever seems to be in the best interests of the company at any time. I know people who have specific schedules, but we’re subject to tremendous number of outside influences and the vast majority of them cannot be predicted. So my idea is to stay flexible. My only plan is to keep coming to work… I like to steer the boat each day rather than plan ahead way into the future.” – Singleton

Buffet and Singleton: Separated at birth?

– Both CEO as investor

– Decentralized operations, centralized investment decisions

– Concentrated investments in areas they knew well

– Neither spend meaningful time with analysts

– Don’t pay dividends

– Don’t split stock

– Both had huge insurance businesses and used float to re-invest

How I’m applying this chapter to my life and Heyo:

–       This chapter described how conglomerates in the 1960’s enjoyed lofty PE ratios and used the currency of their stock to engage in acquisitions. I’m going to research the PE ratios of publicly traded companies who I believe could be great partners to Heyo. Click here to see my handwritten notes when I got this idea in the book. I’ll then convince them using rational logic to issue stock to Heyo (so we get a piece of their business) in exchange for a partnership with Heyo responsible for delivering revenue growth to the public company leveraging the technology Heyo has already built.

–       For example, Hubspot just went public and is trading at a P/E ratio of 0 because they have no earnings. They are losing money but the market is valuing them on top line revenue. Ideally, if we help them drive additional top line revenue, the market values them more. If I can quantify the revenue we could deliver them, it becomes a simple math equation about how much HubSpot stock that revenue growth is worth. This strategy should work well with most SaaS companies who have no earnings and are valued primarily on top line revenue.

Click here to continue reading part 2 of the notes

10 Stupid Simple Tricks to Speed Read and Remember Everything

How to speed readI’m sitting in a New York City Starbucks attempting to hide from the freezing drizzle that’s falling and got a text that said:

“Nathan, I heard you on a podcast, can you tell me more about you read so much while also remembering everything?”


First, understand my personal pattern of reading. 3 books each week. 1 biography. 2 strategy books. Average 900 pages read per week. I aim for this pattern each week but am not perfect and sometimes miss.

10 tricks I use to read fast and remember everything:

1. Literally gain an unfair advantage by expanding your viewing range into peripheral vision. This will allow you to “skip” reading 2-3 words on each side of the page. Doing this is more about self control than anything else.

Force yourself to skip them and let your peripheral vision do the trick. At first, it’ll feel silly, like you’re missing something – ignore this feeling and keep practicing. If you’re worried about comprehension at first, don’t worry about it. Focus first on speed. Retention of ideas in your periphery will come when you master compartmentalization (keep reading to learn how to do this).

2. Read without subvocalizing. Do not repeat the words in our head. Most people learned to read by doing this so for anyone older than 10, this’ll take practice to un-train yourself. The opposite of subvocalizing is compartmentalizing. Keep reading to learn how to compartmentalize.

3. Use a pen to set your speed and for note characterization (more later on). I use a Uni-Ball vision elite. They don’t bust on planes and I find that they leave clean lines easy for interpretation later on. This helps you with both speed and retention. Here is a picture from the current book I’m reading and what my pen tracking/notes look like.

4. Don’t read every word. Focus on skipping across a page like a well thrown stone skips across a smooth lake. Compartmentalize ideas and word combinations and then actively choose which to read. This takes practice. This is what a compartmentalized page might look like:

Speed Read

Your brain will get better at then picking the right “compartments to open” for comprehension:

compartmenatlize choose


Most people struggle with compartmentalizing because of the fear of missing out. Some tricks I used to get good at this was first to only read words that seemed to be longer than 5 letters. Note I didn’t actually count the letters in every word but by setting a constraint my brain could quickly determine whether or not to read.

Another short cut I used was to literally skip every 3 words. You start recognizing what patterns make sense to compartmentalize and which ones don’t. You’ll also find that certain genres follow different compartmentalizing patterns. (Bios are different than strategy books for example.)

5. Do not re-read. This means you must read in a place where you are not distracted. Most people spend upwards of 30% of their reading time, re-reading.

6. Establish a code while you read to easily take notes after you’ve finished the book. My code is: Underline general notes, circle people’s names for potential future bio reads, double underline other books or works referenced in the book. You’ll see all my notes are broken into these categories.

7. Don’t let your eyes stop. Use your pen to set a constant speed and stick to the speed. If you find your eyes stopping, it means you need to get better at compartmentalizing words and phrases real time to keep up with the pace you set with your pen.

8. Read from a place of curiosity. The way I pick the next biography to read is usually based off a name mentioned in the last bio I read. This allows me to create a fully connected story from all the content I ever consume. Your mind appreciates this and you’ll find your natural interest in reading to be greater.

9. In order to take something I read about say, Warren Buffet, I’ll connect physical actions he does in his life with the theories he teaches. This activates multiple senses and allows me to retain information in a story like way, rich with vivid detail.

For example, Warren Buffet’s Bio said he is famous for drinking a coke and eating two McDonalds burgers at an average lunch. The week after I read Snowball (his bio), I mimicked this eating pattern for a full 7 days and tied 7 key learnings from his Bio into each coke and burger lunch.

During Monday’s lunch I internalized: Save $.75 of every after tax dollar and put it into a combination of low fund indexes for the long term, as I took the next munch of my burger. Click here to see how I spend/invest all my money.

Tuesday’s lunch would be another lesson and so on and so forth. I think this is one of the secret reasons I’m good at retention that isn’t well explained online.

10. Lastly, one week after I read each book, I go back and write up the notes. When I do this I create a section called “ideas to implement at Heyo” in the notes. I then surface these ideas to my management team during our Monday afternoon meetings. We often debate these ideas which helps further retention. If you want to see an example of what the final notes look like, click here.

Reading in such a hyper focused and intentional way is not for everyone. I’m super competitive and like the fact that I’ve found a way to retain so much information and do it at a speedy pace. Because I’m just 25 (and have about 2.5b seconds left to live if I live to be the average white men in North America, 88) these tactics, like compound interest, will pay off for years to come.

Thanks to Kaivan, Greg, Austin, Claudio, Chris, Azul, Hunter, Michael, Wilson, and Richard for helping me edit this before posting.

Tell me what questions you have in the comments.

How To Read Fast and Retain Everything

People ask me how I read so much and actually retain information. This is the system I build for myself.

Week of August 4th:
1. Read Walt Disney Biography
2. Read The Perfect Store (eBay history)
3. Read Creativity Inc, (Pixar history)
How to read: Ignore first and last two words in every line. Circle any names mentioned who I find interesting. Write “read” and underline any other books, articles, or publications mentioned that I want to study. This strategy works best when using a $1.99 Uni-Ball Vision Elite pen made in Japan. Underline critical themes deserving of space on the 8.5×11″ page of notes for each book.

Sunday 8/10:
1. Flip through Walt Disney, The Perfect Store, Creativity Inc and capture all underlined notes in a one page review. Write down all people mentioned in book along with all publications mentioned.

Week of August 11th:
1. 6:30-6:45am read the one page summary of Walt, Perfect Store, Creativity Inc. (do this every morning for a week, then once every Sunday for 3 months, then once a quarter for 4 quarters, then 1 every half year for ever)
2. Filter all decisions through creative lens Walt did with no focus on finances. Smoke cigarettes. Avoid family. Study employee desks late at night to keep pulse of company. Convince yourself you’re Walt.
3. Read The Obstacle is The Way, Willpower, Hillary Clinton Biography

Sunday 8/17:
1. Flip through Obstacle is way, Willpower, Hillary Clinton and capture all underlined notes in a one page review. Write down all people mentioned in book along with all publications mentioned.

Rinse, wash, repeat.